Eddy Awards Celebrates Duval Educators

Shown is Kipp school semifinalist Schnell Bernavil, surrounded by Kipp teacher supporters Kayla White, Chelsea Miller, Melissa Marshall, Andrea Jemmott and Laquindra McCray.

The 32nd EDDY Awards annual event was held to celebrate Duval County’s leading teachers. It is a time-honored tradition that has grown into its new mission to elevate the role of Jacksonville’s best teachers. More than 160 elementary, middle and high school teachers were nominated by their schools for the award in a search that began in October 2022 and was narrowed down to the top five finalists in December 2022. The finalists were chosen by a community selection committee that reviewed their applications, conducted interviews and watched footage of their instruction in the classroom or online. The winning teacher will go on to be considered as finalists for the county’s top teaching honor and all 15 will participate in JPEF’s Teacher Leadership Initiative, a professional learning community that connects teacher leaders with best practices in equity and school quality. Andrew Jackson High School math and physics teacher Julia Mayeshiba was announced as the 2023 Teacher of the Year.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *