Raines Closing Black History Month with Continued Legacy of Excellence

New Inductees into Raines' National Honor Society
Founded in January of 1965, Raines High School is Jacksonville’s longest serving historically black high school that is still serving students of color. Throughout its 55 year existence, thousands of its graduates have gone on to make their mark on the city and the world. As the school continues its legacy of excellence, February was the perfect month to mark two more significant milestones in their history.
Shown is the Raines Vikings as Red Caps Following their second win of the High School Heritage Classic

The first feat was Raines winning the A. Philip Randolph Cup for second year in a row with 16-5 victory over their longtime rivals Ribault High School. The game was organized by the Jumbo Shrimp Baseball team in tribute to Negro League Baseball.

Both teams wore customized Jacksonville Red Caps uniforms to commemorate the Negro American League team that played in Jacksonville from 1938 until 1942. The cup is named after civil rights icon Asa Philip Randolph.
Raines recently held an Induction Ceremony for the Gold Key Chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS). Twenty-four students were inducted into the prestigious society.  The festive event included a welcome address from Miss Raines Amber Ferrell and a rendition of “Lift Every Voice and Sing.” Current NHS members also presented the “Four Pillars of NHS”: Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Character to the new inductees. The new members were inducted by pledging to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society, to be loyal to Raines, and to maintain and encourage high standards of the Four NHS Pillar.  The ceremony closed with remarks from Raines graduate Mr. Vincent Hall, who shared words of wisdom and scholarship and the importance of servant leadership. The following students were inducted: Joshua Ancrum, Alicia Barber, Alio’nyx Belcher, Kanesa Burke, Beyansha Channell, Jamicia Davis, Prince Day, Philla Hansbury, Carley Holden, Esohe Igiehon-Osemwegie, Tiana Irby, Darre’ale Jackson, Almaryee Jones, Anaya King, Courtney Lewis, Carmen Martin, Kelsey Mason, Baileigh Moore, Jasmyne Parker, Briahna Pittman, Neith Reid-El, Evantaon Stanley-Hayes, and T’kai Wells.
Currently the school serves roughly 1600 students. The current graduation rate is 94% and it has been above 90% for five consecutive years.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *