Delta Delta Chapter Tri – Chapters Founders Day Celebration

By Jakki Stubbs, Publicity Chair – National Sorority of Phi Delta Kappa, Inc., Delta Delta Chapter celebrated their annual Founders’ Day event with host chapter Alpha Gamma Chapter of Jacksonville, Florida and Gamma Eta Chapter of St. Augustine, Florida on Saturday, May 21, 2016, at the Downtown Riverfront Double Tree Hotel.

The speaker for the occasion was Mrs. Cassandra Barlow, who serves as the Dean of Girls at the Young Women’s Leadership Academy at Eugene Butler Middle School—Duval County Public Schools’ first gender separate school. She spoke on “The Role of the Supporting Actresses (teachers) in the Public School System.

Alpha Gamma Chapter awarded “Soror of the Year” to Mrs. Carolyn Adams for dedicated service to the chapter. Sorority pins were presented to Mrs. Ethel McKinney for 50 years of service and Mrs. Joyce Taylor for 25 years of service.

Delta Delta Chapter awarded four scholarships totaling $3,200 to graduating Xinos and Kudos: Mariah Franklin, Ashley Stodgen, Jarrodd Williams, and Jarrell Williams. Mrs. Shirley Willis and Mrs. Jacquline McKinney received plaques for their retirement from the Duval County Public Schools.  A donation was given to Emanuel Missionary Baptist Church for the use of its facilities for various events. Following the luncheon, chapter members participated in a torch lighting ceremony.  Delta Delta Chapter worshipped at Greater Grant Memorial A.M.E. Church on Sunday, May 22, during the 10:30 a.m. service.

Chapter presidents are Ms. Estella Dixon, Alpha Gamma Chapter; Mrs. Sonee Carswell, Gamma Eta Chapter, and Mrs. Betty J. LeRoy, Delta Delta Chapter.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *