Back to School Time!

Throughout Duval County drives and giveaway abound to prepare local students for the school year ahead. As summer break comes to a close for thousands of local students, the New Town Success Zone (NTSZ), surround Edward Waters College  hosted its annual back to school event delivering thousands of supplies.

The Success Zone partnered with several organizations and local entities to help children start the school year off right with their 10th Annual Back-To-School Celebration.  The event was on Saturday at the Edward Waters Adams-Jenkins Community Sports & Music Complex located on Kings Road.

NTSZ gave out book bags full of supplies and groceries to 800+ people. No cost health screenings were also part of the days events and free contraceptives for anyone in the community. Various corporations, non profits and Greek organizations donated over 1,000 book bags and school supplies for students in K-12th grade.  Also, lending a helping hand was the National Council of Negro Women.

Since being founded, NTSZ has been committed to achieving helping children and families grow and break the economic, health, and educational barriers that affect there lives. The organization focuses on practical and effective strategies and programming to improve the quality of life in the New Town community.

NTSZ exists to serve as the catalyst by which families and children living in the New Town neighborhood can be connected seamlessly with programs and services that afford families the opportunity to help their children be the very best they can be. NTSZ is dedicated to helping families achieve long-term success for lasting impact within the family and curates targeted programming that meets the needs of all individuals within a family, regardless of age or gender. The model meets the needs of children at birth until college and develops programming for parents and family members addressing education, social services, family support, health, and community-building needs. For more visit Sown below is NTSZ CEO George Maxey and National Council of Negro Women Members: Dr. Sabrina Edwards, Marilyn Dawson, Chantell Obasohan, Tierra Green, Tonya Perry, Shirley Wright and Sheila Jefferson.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *