Annual Emancipation Proclamation Awards Celebration Honors the Legacy of Freedom

The Lincoln Proclamation Association presented their 154th Emancipation Proclamation with an awards luncheon and dedication to local students for academic excellence. A plethora of pastors, bishops, veterans, lodge members, educators and community leaders attended the emancipation dedicated to the proclamation that was delivered by President Abraham Lincoln on September 22, 1862 and was fully enforced on January 1, 1863. Guest speaker was Bishop Teresa E. Snorton the 59th Bishop elected to the Christian Methodist Episcopal church.

Honorees included: Dr. Arnett E. Girardeau, Sr., and Sollie Mitchell and student awardees Jessica Brock, Miara J. Parker, Samuel Ross,  Nicole Hogg, and George Pratt. Clawson photo


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *