Black Rose Foundation Scholarship Recipients Announced

Scholarship Recipient Lynnasia Johnson (First Coast High School / Bethune-Cookman University)

The Black Rose Foundation for Children recently announced their 2020 James V. Brooks Memorial Scholarship Recipients.  The purpose of the scholarship is to assist Duval County high school graduates to continue their music interest during their higher education matriculation.  Since 2013, 43 students have received nearly $50,000 to hone their craft and pursue more knowledge in the field of music. Throughout the years, students from a cross section of area high schools have received at least $1K each to attend College. of Music.  Due to the Covid19- pandemic, the Foundation’s signature and major funding event scheduled for April 2020, “The 6th Annual Power of Music: Our Voice, Our Music, Our Journey,” was canceled. However, the Advisory Board for the fund organized and presented a virtual program featuring national recording artist, Maurice Griffin, along with Jacksonville songstress, Synetta Drayton.

A legend in his native home of Jacksonville, Florida, scholarship namesake James V. Brooks was a graduate of Bethune-Cookman University and Florida State University.  He excelled as an itinerant string instructor, high school music teacher and band director for local high schools in Jacksonville.  He was also a church musician and a member of Simpson United Methodist Church.  James was known for his rhythmic choreography on the field and as result his band students received “superior” ratings in competitions throughout the state.  He encouraged his students to be the best.  “It is because of his love for music, high esteem for his students, and his desire to place an everlasting love of music in young people is why we established the foundation,” said his sister Shirley Bing, Founder and President of the Black Rose Foundation.

The 2020 James V. Brooks Memorial Scholarship Recipients are: Eman Al-Amad (Atlantic Coast High School / Florida State College at Jacksonville), Hanna Frampton (Paxon School for Advance Studies / William Rice University), Lynnasia Johnson (First Coast High School / Bethune-Cookman University) and Timothy Moss (Douglas Anderson School of the Arts / Bethune-Cookman University).

For more information and to view the 2020 virtual program visit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *