First Coast Pan Hellenic Council Awards Scholarships

For hundreds of years Fraternities and Sororities have been on the forefront paving the way for academic achievement and excellence through the Historic Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Network. The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of the nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.

One of the local educational initiatives is the Jacksonville Scholastic Achievers Society (JSAS), a recognition program honoring students in Jacksonville who have achieved exceptional academic success, shown unique talent and commitment to personal development and/or have stood out in personal character. Since its development in 2012, over 100 students from grades 5 through 12 have been recognized for their achievements.

This year, the JSAS held their 7th annual scholarship reception program at the State Attorney’s office to recognize four outstanding youth headed to college in the fall. Each high school senior received a financial stipend and recognition for their wining 500 word essay to defend or refute, “the criticism, banning, controversy and grooming of black hair styles policies and regulations.” Attendees enjoyed a buffet dinner and words of inspiration from Dr. Chanda Holsey. First Coast NPHC President Nikki Torian remarked, “we do this for the kids and to help support the youth to reach higher. Fraternities and Sororities are the backbone of the NPHC and we plan to continue our work in the community,” said Torian.
Shown l-r is Committee Chair Monica Richardson, scholarship winners Sharmar Rush (First Coast High School/Stetson University), (Ja’Nya Johnson (Trinity Christian/University of North Florida), Maya Burgess Sandalwood/Auburn University), Asia Barlow (Paxon School of Advanced Studies/University of Florida) and First Coast Pan-Hellenic Council President Nikki Torian

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *