Mayor Honors Outstanding Women in Honor of Women’s History Month

Honorees (shown above) included: Paula Naugle Bides, Mary Ann Brown, Sharon Coon, Dr. Pamela Chally, Dr. Tra’Chella Johnson Foy, Marisa Freeman, Beatrice Reid Gilliard, Sonjanique Gunn, Dr. Vallie Michelle Holloway, Teresa Hunter, Felicia R. Johnson, Karen Kurycki, Dr. Karen McCarthy, Ruth Waters McKay, Narlene Jackson-McLaughlin, Joanelle Mulrain, Kathryn Murphy, Joni Poitier, Nanci Soriano, Linda Smith, DeAndrous Wilcox, Felicia Wright and Vicky Zelen surrounding Mayor Curry.

The Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women hosted its 30th Annual Women’s History Month Event Wednesday, March 30 at the Jacksonville Main Public Library. As part of its milestone celebration, the group altered its regular recognition by honoring 23 women who have made contributions to the community through leadership and service instead of only four.

Attendees and invited guests heard greetings from Tangi K. Williams, Commission Chair, in addition to remarks about the honorees.

The Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women was established as an advisory commission in 1972 by Mayor Hans G. Tanzler Jr., becoming a full commission under the leadership of Mayor Jake Godbold in 1982. Its mission is to serve as a catalyst for moving all women forward by educating the community, advocating on behalf of women’s issues and celebrating the accomplishments of women. Public meetings are held every fourth Monday.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *