FAMU President Elmira Mangum Receives HCBU ‘Female President of the Year’ Award

Dr. Elmira Mangum

Dr. Elmira Mangum
HAMPTON, Va. – Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU) President Elmira Mangum, Ph.D., was awarded the prestigious Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) “Female President of the Year” Award presented by the HBCU Digest Friday night at the annual AARP HBCU Awards ceremony at Hampton University.
Mangum headlined a slate of three FAMU Rattler honorees as the “Female President of the Year.” Other awardees include alumna Cecka Rose Green, who created the FAMU 10 for $10 giving campaign, and three-time MEAC track and field championship-winning head coach Darlene Moore.

FAMU led all HBCUs with 14 nominations, followed by host Hampton with 10. A record 430 nominations from universities, alumni, and students were submitted for the 2015 edition of the awards.

Finalists were selected based on the impact of the nominees’ achievement on institutional development, and for media coverage earned for the University by way of the nominee. Winners were selected by an academy of former HBCU Awards winners, former and current HBCU presidents, alumni, faculty, students, and journalists covering HBCU issues for local or national outlets.

The award is fitting given FAMU’s ranking by U.S News & World Report as the No. 1 public HBCU in the nation for 2015. It follows on the heels of Mangum being selected recently by U.S. Secretary Tom Vilsack to serve on the USDA Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee (APAC), which is responsible for helping to shape our international agricultural trade policy. Agriculture is crucial to the economic well-being of Florida and the country. Mangum was also named on the EBONY “Power 100” list and selected as the “Person of Year” by the Tallahassee Capital Outlook. She was an honoree at the 11th Annual Onyx Magazine Award Ceremony.

“I accept this award on behalf of the entire FAMU community,” said Mangum. “The award represents the hard work and dedication of our staff, faculty, Board of Trustees, alumni, and supporters. Without them, I would not be here tonight receiving this award.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *