Darryl Willie Sworn in as School Board Member

After a competitive election season that ended in some controversy throughout the state, three new  Duval County School Board members were sworn-in during a special meeting this month.

Elizabeth Andersen will take over District 2 for Scott Shine, Paula Wright will be replaced by Darryl Willie  in District 4 and Charlotte Joyce will take over for Becki Couch in District 6.

Willie’s race was the most competitive as he faced former teacher and daycare owner, Cynthia Smith.  After winning with 51.85% of the vote, Willie joins Warren Jones as the two African Americans on the School Board.

During the event, Willie stated, “I will hold myself accountable for the success of every student and will create clear and consistent communication structures that inform and engage students, parents and families.”


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *