49th NAACP Freedom Fund Dinner Honors Local Activists and Heroes

Honored at the event were National Merit Scholars: Javon K. Durham (Darnell Cookman), Reyshaune N. Millennix (Douglas Anderson), Stephanie Z. Thompson (Douglas Anderson), Jerron K. Goode (Paxon), Onyeka Acholonu and Matthew N. Mcketty (Stanton).
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront was the landscape to celebrate African-American achievements for the 49th NAACP Annual Freedom Fund Dinner. The guest speaker was veteran Democratic political strategist Donna Brazile. Ms. Brazile discussed her career, her life, accolades, successes and failures citing, “the freedom of speech is the cornerstone of democracy.”

The highlight of the evening was the NAACP awards presentation to community leaders, advocates and students.

The President’s Award of Excellence was presented to Anthony Rodgers, for serving on the Jacksonville Branch NAACP Executive Committee as a past President and Vice President, and for being the first in Jacksonville to purchase the Diamond Lifetime Membership. Other honorees included: Rutledge H. Pearson Civil Rights Award presented to Dr. Constance Hall; Willye F. Dennis Civic Engagement Award presented to Principal Dr. Gregory Bostic; Olivia Gay-Davis Education Achievement Award presented to Mr. Lawrence Dennis and the Elizabeth G. Means Health Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Eric Stewart, MD.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

116,577 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress